Creamy Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

 

Fall is here and that means it’s soup time! πŸ˜€

I just made this creamy Jerusalem artichoke soup, so delish!

|

Jerusalem artichoke soup

Β©Fridas Peach

|

Here’s the recipe:

|

Creamy Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

|

Ingredients:

500 g Jerusalem artichokes (don’t peel them)
300 g onions (about 3 medium-sized)
300 g potatoes
2 tbsp. oil
8 dl chicken broth
1 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
2Β½ dl cooking cream
150 g diced bacon
Salt
Pepper

|

Directions:

1. Wash and cut onions, potatoes and artichokes into cubes and roast in the oil for a couple of minutes.

2. Add chicken broth and nutmeg. Let cook for 20 minutes.

3. Roast the bacon in a pan and set aside on a plate with a paper towel to absorb the fat.

4. Blend the vegetables and the fluid they’ve cooked in untill it reaches a creamy consistency.

5. Pour the soup back in the pot and add the cooking cream. Stir and let it boil a bit.

6. Add salt and pepper as you like.

7. Serve the hot soup topped off with bacon.

|

Jerusalem artichoke soup

Β©Fridas Peach

|

This soup is suitable for freezing.

|

XOXO
Frida

|

Keywords:
Jerusalem artichokes, soup, food, bacon, recipe, veggies, potatoes

4 thoughts on “Creamy Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

  1. This sounds like a really nice soup recipe to try. I’ve never heard of Jerusalem artichoke before, so I looked it up and found out among other places it also grows in Texas, which is where I live. So I have no idea why I’ve never heard of it. It looks a lot like ginger root, which it obviously is not. This has piqued my curiosity, so I must now go in search of Jerusalem artichoke. Thank you for introducing me to something new to try.

    Like

    • Hi Mary πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you feel like trying this soup, it really is delicious. Here in Denmark the Jerusalem artichoke is a root you will find in grocery stores every fall and winter, we use it quite a lot πŸ™‚ Same thing regarding beets, parsnips, parsley roots and other winter veggies. Danish soil is great for those kind of veggies apparently πŸ™‚ The land of potatoes πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for writing, I love connectning with my readers πŸ™‚

      Hugs
      Frida

      Like

      • I haven’t been able to find the Jerusalem artichoke, and no one seems to know what I’m talking about. It’s common for me to not be able to find some food items because I don’t live in a big city. But I’m not going to give up. I’m visiting a friend in Norway, Maybe we can find all the ingredients, so she and I can make this together.

        Like

Leave a comment

